Digging for nuts

This one’s for boat nuts only, or possibly fellow Coromandel or Corribee owners who might want to know what they’re in for.

While weatherbound and on a sandbank at Wells-next-the-sea last weekend I repaired a loose and leaky stanchion. The biggest problem was getting the thing apart, as you will see in this video.

I must stress that the arrangement with the backing plate isn’t final. I learned a lot doing this and it’s given me ideas about attaching many of these deck fittings much more solidly. The plate might end up being an L-shaped bracket with tapped holes for the bolts, leaving no protruding bolts.

8 Comments

2014-08-21 · 14:20

8 responses to “Digging for nuts

  1. Pingback: Windbound at Wells | Tammy Norie

  2. Antoine Maartens

    I took out Siskin’s interior lining. Believe it is a wise move as all such issues come into the open. My approach is somewhat different from yours as you actually made some real seamiles and I am only doing structural maintenance – I must say I envy you!

    Anyways – all very recognizable this – hidden, glassed over screws. My suggestion would really be to strip her to bare plastic and go over her screw by screw, nail for nail. It is a nightmare task but it would be wise to check every nut and bold before entering the Jester. At least that is what I am doing at the moment and I am not even planning on entering the Jester any time soon.

    Keep on posting – very interesting stuff this. Would it be helpful if I created a blog on Siskin’s progress too?

    • I’m definitely taking a compromise between refitting the boat and sailing. Both are needed! The lining will come right out this winter though. What are your plans for lining Siskin?

      I would be very interested in a blog about Siskin. I find I think things through as I’m writing so it helps me to write one and it is nice to know that I might be helping others. I learned so much from the videos of Roger Taylor, Nathan Whitworth, and Dylan Winter that it encouraged me to share my experiences and mistakes.

  3. Antoine Maartens

    Alright then – I’ll what I can come up with – might end up be a facebook page.

    • A word of warning: Facebook is not a permanent record and it’s contents are not easily found by searches, so if you want to share with the world I recommend a blog.

  4. NIck Barnes

    How did you work your materials (e.g. plywood) while weatherbound in Wells?

  5. Pingback: Padding the pulpit | Tammy Norie

Leave a Reply

